Introduction to Chess
Chess Pieces
Rules of Chess
Chess Sets
  • Themed Chess Sets
  • Wooden Chess Sets
  • Magnetic Chess Sets
  • Marble Chess Sets
  • Travel Chess Sets
  • Staunton Chess Sets
  • World Chess News
    Chess Accessories
    Variants of Chess
    Chess Glossary
    Chess Trivia
      >> World Chess News

    Barua's Winning Streak Ends, Arun Registers Important Win

    19.01.07, New Delhi

    Indian Grand Master Dibyendu Barua, who had so far maintained a winning streak was defeated by Russian Grand Master Alexy Dreev on Thursday at the 5th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament in Indira Gandhi Stadium in New Delhi.

    Over the years, both Barua and Dreev have remained under-achievers after showing great potential early in their careers. But when the two came face to face in the sixth round, it was the top-seeded Russian Grandmaster who proved stronger and became part of the three-man leader group at the Indira Gandhi Stadium.

    Barua had some reasons to rue the loss. Soon after the opening moves of Sicilian Classical, he missed a knight sacrifice for two pawns that could have given him plenty of compensation. However, once the veteran Indian GM grew defensive, Dreev did not spare him another chance and slowly squeezed out a victory in 40 moves.

    Dreev joined Uzbek Shukhrat Safin and S. Arun Prasad in the lead at 5.5points. Safin was lucky to win against fifth seed Abhijit Kunte in their Kings' Indian game after the Indian went ahead too hard and too long in search of a win. Kunte miscalculated the order of moves during his relentless offensive and Safin was quick to punish him in 39 moves.

    Important Win

    Arun Prasad, a former Asian junior champion and third in the National championship last month, vanquished 2005 joint champion Saidali Iuldechev.

    The Results (Sixth Round): Dibyendu Barua (5) lost to Alexey Dreev (Rus, 5.5); Yuri Drozdovskij (Ukr, 5) drew with Abhijeet Gupta (5); S. Kidambi (5) drew with Ziaur Rehman (Ban, 5); Abhijit Kunte (4.5) lost to Shukhrat Safin (Uzb, 5.5); Saidali Iuldachev (Uzb, 4.5) lost to S. Arun Prasad (5.5); Deepan Chakkravarthy (5) drew with G. Rohit (5); Poobesh Anand (5) drew with Pravin Thipsay (5); Roktim Bandyopadhyay (4) lost to Ahmed Adly (Egy, 5); Abdulla Al-Rakib (Ban, 5) bt P.D.S. Girinath (4); Chandrashekhar Gokhale (4) lost to Neelotpal Das (5); Ezat Mohamed (Egy, 5) bt Preetham Sharma (4); Somak Palit (4) lost to Himanshu Sharma (5); Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (4.5) drew with Nassir Wajih (4.5); P. Shyam Nikhil (5) bt G.N. Gopal (4); Sriram Jha (4.5) drew with M.R. Lalith Babu (4.5); Saptarshi Roy (4.5) drew with Ravi Hegde (4.5); Shashikant Kutwal (5) bt S. Satyapragyan (4); K. Ratnakaran (4) lost to B. Adhiban (5); Gurpreet Pal Singh (4) lost to Arghyadip Das (5); S. P. Sethuraman (5) bt Anwesh Upadhyay (4); Surya Shekhar Ganguly (4.5) bt M. Srinivasa Rao (3.5); Ram Prakash (4.5) bt Diwakar Prasad Singh (3.5); M.R. Venkatesh (4.5) bt Prasenjit Dutta (3.5); S. Vijayalakshmi (4.5) bt Padmini Rout (3.5); Niaz Murshed (Ban, 4.5) bt O.T. Anil Kumar (3.5); Mohammad Ali (Ban, 4) drew with G.B. Prakash (4); Mahmood Lodhi (Pak, 4.5) bt Manthan Chokshi (3.5) Prathamesh Mokal (3.5) lost to Praful Mehta (4.5); Sohan Phadke (4.5) bt Nasir Ahmed (3.5); Akash Thakur (3.5) lost to Praveen Kumar (4.5).

    Source: and