Introduction to Chess
Chess Pieces
Rules of Chess
Chess Sets
  • Themed Chess Sets
  • Wooden Chess Sets
  • Magnetic Chess Sets
  • Marble Chess Sets
  • Travel Chess Sets
  • Staunton Chess Sets
  • World Chess News
    Chess Accessories
    Variants of Chess
    Chess Glossary
    Chess Trivia
      >> Chess Pieces

    The game of chess is believed to have originated in India. The earliest Indian chess pieces were called shah (king), wazir (counselor), fil (bishop), asp (knight), rukh (rook), and piyade (pawn). The game found its way to Persia and the earliest Persian names were shah, farzin, pil, asp, rukh, and piyada. In Arabic they were shah, firzan, fil, faras, rukhkh, and baidaq. Later the game became famous all over the world. Countries of the western world translated the earliest names as closely as possible.

    The Chessboard consists of 64 squares of alternate colors - black and white. It is a board on which chess pieces are moved. There are 6 different types of chess pieces, each with it's own unique method to move on the chessboard. The chess pieces are used to both attack and defend from attack, against the other player's chessmen. The White always makes the first move.

    Each player has 16 chess pieces. These pieces represent a medieval army. The pieces consist of a King and a Queen representing monarchy, two Rooks that stand for the castle, two knights that correspond to horsemen, two bishops that signify the church and the eight pawns that are foot soldiers.

    The chess pieces are usually carved in wood. The king is easily identifiable with his mighty crown while the Queen bears a small crown. The Rooks or Castles are sturdy chess pieces. The Bishops have their distinctive headdress, the Knights show a horse's head, and the Pawn is like a man without distinction, a man of the crowd, a common soldier.

    The Moves of the Chess Pieces

    The King can only move one square at a time but he can move forward, backward, left, right and diagonally.

    The Queen is the most powerful chess piece who moves in straight line. She can move vertically, horizontally, and diagonally just as many squares she wants (without jumping other chess pieces).

    The Bishops move just like the queen except they can't move forward, backward, left or right. They can move diagonally only just as many spaces as desired without jumping another chess piece.

    Knights: The knight moves one square in any direction then diagonally one square away from its starting square. It is a flexible and a powerful piece.

    The Rook moves just like the queen except it can't move diagonally. Just forward, backward, left, and right but as many spaces as desired without jumping other chess pieces.

    The Pawns in their first move can go two squares if they want. They can only move straight forward and cannot turn back. They are empowered to capture one of the enemies by approaching diagonally. But, if one of these brave little soldiers can make it to the other side, they are rewarded with a promotion - to a queen.